NMMU logo
Staff
Botany

Staff

Academic Staff
Dr. Derek Du Preez
Position:  Head of Department, Director: CMR
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone:  +27 (0)41 504 2721
Email:  Derek.DuPreez@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  PhD
Expertise:  Geographical Information Systems, Microalgal ecophysiology, Plant stress physiology, Seaweed mariculture (cultivation of seaweeds), Soil nitrogen and soil nutrient availability

 


Prof. Eileen Campbell
Position:  Director of the School of Environmental Sciences
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone:  +27 (0)41 504 2329
Email:  Eileen.Campbell@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  PhD
Expertise:  Coastal zone management, Phycology (study of algae), Sandy beach ecology, Vegetation ecology

 


Prof. Richard Cowling
Position:  Research Professor
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email:  rmc@kingsley.co.za
Qualifications:  PhD
Expertise:  Ecology, evolution and conservation of the Fynbos, Succulent Karoo and Subtropical Thicket Biomes

 


Prof. Janine Adams
Position:  Full Professor
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone:  +27 (0)41 504 2429
Email:  Janine.Adams@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  PhD
Expertise:  Environmental flow requirements, Estuarine botanist, Estuary ecology

 


Dr. Phumelele Gama
Position:  Senior Lecturer
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone:  +27 (0)41 504 2779
Email:  Phumelele.Gama@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  PhD
Expertise:  Aquatic plant ecology, Phytoplankton ecology

 


Dr. Paul-Pierre Steyn
Position:  Senior Lecturer
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone:  +27 (0)41 504 2084
Email:  Paul.Steyn@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  PhD
Expertise:  Seaweed mariculture, Macroalgae ecology, Environmental Management

 


Ms. Penny Lithauer
Position:  Lecturer
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone:  +27 (0)41 504 2575
Email:  Penny.Lithauer@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  MSc
Expertise:  Crop physiology

 


 
Dr. Cornelia Garner
Position:  Contract Lecturer for BBO
Department:  Botany
Location:  South Campus
Phone:  +27 (0)41 504 2398
Email:  cornelia.garner@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  PhD
Expertise:   Rocky shore ecology

 


Technical Staff
Mr. Andrew Smith
Position:  Senior Laboratory Technician
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email:  Andrew.Smith@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  MSc

 


Mr. Chan Visagie
Position:  Laboratory Assistant
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email:  Chan.Visagie@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  BSc

 


Ms. Cynthia Tobias
Position:  Laboratory Technician
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email:  Cynthia.Tobias@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:  BSc

 


 
Ms Thembakazi Pakana
Position:  Departmental Secretary
Department:  Botany
Location:  Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email:  Thembakazi.Pakana@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications:   

 


 

 

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Telephone: 041-504 1111 | Fax: 041-504 2574 / 2731

E-mail: info@nmmu.ac.za

PO Box 77000 | Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Contact usPort Elizabeth | 6031 | South Africa

YouTube Twitter Facebook Connect@nmmu

 

© NMMU 2013

A-Z Index

NMMU site map